Kayz On A Mission

Kayz series of missions in pursuit of Life, Love, and Happiness.

How To Make It In America… 18/07/2011

Filed under: Inspiration,Uncategorized — Kay Wanderz @ 12:45 pm
Tags: , , , ,
Great question, amazing show!
I fell in absolute love with this show last summer and have been awaiting its return since. Though I almost gave up hope on its return because of how much HBO has pushed back the release date, it is finally coming back this Fall. It’s about two friends trying to ‘Make It In America’, while living the hustler’s life in New York, no matter the odds. Neither of them come from privileged backgrounds, and must do a series of hustles just for ends meet, they continue in pursuit of eventually doing that one hustle that makes them big. Or at least successful and not just living dolla to dolla. :-p
 
So I thought it was only appropriate that I include this in my blog, seeing as how it has to do with the focus of my blog. Just trying to ‘Make It In America’ on my own terms, doing what I love. After all is that not what we all wish for. This show is exactly what I need to keep me on track with my missions.
 
While we’re on the subject of trying to make it, I have just started applying for writing jobs/internships. This is a huge step for me because I have always thought that I would be working in the Medical industry because that’s what I’ve been pushed to do, all the while ignoring my true passion for writing and creativity. So long story short, I have no actual professional experience in writing, but 6 years in the medical field, a license in nursing, and way more volunteering hours than the average 21yr old. Kind of like the main character, who is an amazing artist and designer, no matter what hustle he tries to do, the artist in him just keeps resurfacing.
 
It’s just crazy because no matter how impossible it seems to them, they always believe that they are gonna make it somehow. Like there is no way in hell, they were made for a life of normalcy. Quite frankly, I see where they are coming from. Have you ever had that feeling in you that there is something more for you out there. That this life that you are leading now, is only temporary. Yeah, well I have that feeling. And even if I don’t become a millionaire traveling the world, being paid to write my heart’s delight, I know that this is not the end for me.
 
So while I continue my hustle of trying to move to New York to become a writer, I hope you continue with your dreams as well.
Stay Making It,
Kayz
